The personal dropdown menu in the virtual classroom allows you to access multiple personal settings which let you optimise your experience in the room according to your needs.

Functions

Share Screen

Participants can share their entire screen or a specific desktop application. This functionality is only available for the Google Chrome browser after a specific browser extension is downloaded and installed. In order to make use of the screen sharing functionality, click on your name in the top right corner, which will open the Personal Controls drop-down menu.

This is how the menu looks prior to the download:

Share screen functionality before download
Share screen functionality prior to download

and after the extension has been installed :

After installing the Google Chrome extension
After installing the extension

High Video Quality

High video quality is switched on by default. Should there be any problems with the connection or the video quality it‘s recommended that the functionality be switched off to improve the user experience.

Additionally, if any participant gets disconnected and then reconnects, his video feed quality will be switched to lower quality by default in order to ensure a better experience.

High Video Quality ON by default
High Video Quality

Devices

Every participant can control whether their camera and microphone  are “on” or “off” through the “Devices” option in the drop-down menu. More information about controlling participants’ devices and permissions (as a tutor) can be found here.

Managing Devices from the Drop Down menu
Managing Devices

Audio Controls 

This menu allows you to start or stop your microphone. From your Personal Settings dropdown menu, under Devices.

Audio Controls in the Virtual Classroom
Audio Controls

Video Controls

This menu allows you to start or stop your microphone. From your Personal Settings drop-down menu, under Devices, use the turn off/on camera button.

Video Controls in the Virtual Classroom
Video Controls

Clear Workspace 

The following functionality clears the cache of your browser, immediately relaunching the virtual classroom. Its use is recommended when user quality experience is compromised. Issues are resolved once the Participant is logged into the room once more. Whiteboard content is not lost.

NOTE: The system doesn’t ask for confirmation once you’ve clicked on the button.

Clear workspace in the Virtual Classroom
Clear workspace

Language

Participants can change their language from inside the room. This is only effective for that particular participant, meaning that changing the language on the tutor side will not do so for the rest of the participants in the virtual classroom.

Note: If you change the language, the room will be reloaded automatically and you will have to undergo the system check once more.

Languages menu in the Virtual Classroom
Languages menu

Help

Should you require any help the following options are available to you from within the room:

Help menu in the Virtual Classroom
Help menu

Instructions
Launches the tooltip that is available to all participants when they first start using the virtual classroom system

Instructions tooltip in the Virtual Classroom
Instructions tooltip

Contact us
Opens a Support Team Contact form

Contact us form in the Virtual Classroom
Contact us form

User guide
Opens an online version of the VEDAMO user guide.

Lock the Room

This functionality locks the room from the inside, forbidding any future attempts to log in. If a lesson has been underway for 5 minutes with one or more students still running late, a teacher can lock their room to prevent any interruption and distraction for the students that are already in and working. If the late students make an attempt to log in at a later stage, a message will be displayed, explaining the teacher has locked the room and they are no longer allowed access.

In order to Lock the room, click on your name in the top right corner and select ‘Lock the room’

Lock the room in the Virtual Classroom
Lock the room for late students

You will receive a message prompting you to confirm that would really want to Lock the room. Press ‘Yes’ to confirm or ‘No’ to decline the change.

Choose either to lock the room
Select Yes or No to lock the room

Simple View 

Participants can switch to Simple View. For more details on Simple View, please check here

Log Out 

A participant can log out of the room. As long as the room is still open, they can log in once more by reloading the page or through the link they received through their e-mail. A teacher can log into the room from the ENTER THE CLASSROOM button in the Video rooms section of their Dashboard on Vedamo.

NOTE: The system will ask for confirmation.

Click on Enter the Classroom to Re-enter the live session
Click on Enter the Classroom to Re-enter the live lesson

End the lesson

By selecting this option the creator of the room can close it, thus exiting the room and ejecting all participants from it. All participants are immediately informed of the action. Everyone is asked to give feedback in an optional survey

Lesson Survey after the lesson
Lesson Survey after the class

Afterwards they are greeted by a screen letting them know the end time of the lesson and are provided the option of working in the room offline should they wish to.

Staying in the room offline will mean they can still view the whiteboard, but won’t be able to interact with it in any way.

Lesson summary after it finishes
Lesson summary

 

Was this article helpful?