Description

The Users menu gives Administrators and the Organisation account access to the user administration panel for all accounts registered in your subdomain.

Location

To access the user administration menu, log into your subdomain using an Organisation account or an Administrator account. The Users menu is accessible through your left side menu.

 

Create user account

Organisations and Administrators can create users using the green + New user button. There are several fields, all required, that need to be filled in in order to create an account:

  • User details: enter an email address, first and last name, country and time zone;
  • Username: the username is required when the user is logging in to their account. Alternatively, they can also use their registered email address if they do not remember their username;
  • Password: The password you set up needs to be at least 6 characters long. You also need to repeat the password in the Confirm password field;
  • Roles: Choose the appropriate role for the account that you are creating. The available choices are:
    • User: This is typically the role you would use when creating a student’s/trainee’s account. Users can participate in courses and virtual classrooms, but do not have access to any system settings and cannot open virtual classrooms;
    • Teacher: The teacher role is something you would choose when creating a tutor’s account. You can designate accounts with this role as teachers in courses and lessons. Teachers can assign files and quizzes to groups. Furthermore, in an Learning Management System, a teacher can open virtual classrooms both from their dashboard (when assigned to a course containing virtual classroom sessions) and through the Virtual Classrooms menu;
    • Admin: This role should be assigned only to people who will be administering the system. The administrator has full access to the user administration menu. Admins cannot be assigned as teachers in a course. In an Learning Management System, admins have the option of opening a virtual classroom through the Virtual Classrooms menu.

Once done, click the + Save button to save the account.

Confirmation email

This will send an automated email to the customer containing his username (email address) and password:

NOTE: The number of accounts you can create in your subdomain depends on the subscription package that you purchased. If you try to create an account that goes over the limit, the system will alert you that you have reached the limit. You can upgrade your LMS plan if you would like to increase the number of accounts you can create.

User administration: locating accounts

In the user administration menu, you have sorting options and a search field that can help you locate the account you are looking to edit. For example, you can sort all user accounts by role or type in a user’s name or email address in the search field in order to find their account quickly. You also have the Select All option to help you quickly select all of the accounts displayed on the page. 

User administration: Edit user account

Clicking on the pencil icon to the right of the account name will allow you to edit an account. Editing another user’s profile is very similar to editing your own. However, there are several additional options.

 

Basic information

There are two noticeable differences in managing accounts through the Users menu:

  • The Roles section, which allows you to change the customer’s role in the system;
  • The Account status section, which allows you to select the status of the account. There are three options to choose from:
    • Active: The account is fully active and the user can use their username and password to log in;
    • Suspended: This option temporarily deactivates the account. Choosing this option means that the customer will not be able to log in to their account. However, their account remains in the system and you can set it back to active at any point;
    • Deleted: Choosing this option will completely delete the account. It will no longer appear in user lists and cannot be recovered.

NOTE: Setting an account to suspended or deleted will reduce the count of active accounts in the system. This is useful if you have already reached the account limit afforded by your subscription. For example: Your subscription package affords you 50 active accounts. There are currently 49 accounts active in your subdomain and you need to add two new student accounts. You notice that one of the students currently registered has not participated in any courses for a year. Setting their account to suspended will let you create the two new accounts you need.

Personal details

This section of the profile allows you to provide additional information on the account. Typically, this includes the following:

NOTE: There are several additional fields available in tutor accounts, allowing you to add the tutor’s subject, courses, experience, education and certification.

If you submit any changes here you will need to save them by pressing Save changes. Otherwise, they will not be saved if you navigate away from the account.

Change password

This tab allows you to create a new password for the customer. This is identical to changing your own password except it does not require you to put in an old password.

 

User groups

This tab shows you group membership for this account.

Additionally, you can remove a student from a group by clicking the X button to the right or add them to a new group via the green Add user to group button.

NOTE: You may have noticed that the Users option in the left side menu contains two user administration submenus: Users and Groups; This article discusses the Users submenu. The next article will look further into the Groups submenu where you will learn how to create and manage user groups.

User courses/lessons

This tab lists the course(s) this account is subscribed to.

Was this article helpful?