How to Reopen a Virtual Classroom

Reopening a virtual classroom has only one but very useful purpose – keeping the invitation link.

The “Reopen” button is located on the review page of any closed virtual classroom – on the right of the information about the date, the time and the participants:

By pressing the "Virtual classrooms" button you will see the list with past sessions
By pressing the “Virtual classrooms” button you will see the list with past sessions
If you select the lesson that you want to reopen, the "reopen" button will be visible.
If you select the lesson that you want to reopen, the “reopen” button will be visible.

When you choose to reopen a virtual classroom instead of opening a new one, the system still creates a brand new room. This means that you are keeping the record of the initial one – it will remain in your list of virtual classrooms, the participant logs, time and duration of the session – all is saved, including the archive of the session if you had this option turned on at the beginning.

However, the new room you create with the “reopen” function will keep the invitation link of the previous one. This way your participants could use only one link to enter any other room you create, there will be no need to send them a new link all over again.

For example, you have a session named Chemistry 101 which is closed and you choose to reopen it:

Sessions list: the closed lessons are colored in red, also are labeled as "closed", only they can be reopened
Sessions list: the closed lessons are colored in red, also are labeled as “closed”, only they can be reopened

Click on the session in the list of sessions to open its review page, and select the button “Reopen the session”

In order to reopen the classroom, you have to select the "reopen the session" button
In order to reopen the classroom, you have to select the “reopen the session” button

A new window will open with all the options you have when creating a new room, let’s name this new session Physics 101:

 

The room settings can still be edited
The room settings can still be edited

Now you have a new virtual classroom session with this name in your list and the session Chemistry 101 won’t be deleted or overwritten – you will have all the information saved:

This is how an edited lesson will look like
This is how an edited lesson will look like

The link to the Physics 101 remains the same as Chemistry 101. You could do this as many times as you want:

Link for the first lesson, prior to the name change
Link for the first lesson, prior to the name change
After changing the name of the lesson the link will still be the same
After changing the name of the lesson the link will still be the same

The above is just an example. When reopening a virtual classroom, there is no need to change the title (you may reopen it with the same title as many times as you want) or the settings of your session.

Please, bear in mind that this option is available only to stand-alone virtual classroom sessions, it is not applicable to scheduled rooms or those that are part of a course.

 

Was this article helpful?