Overview

The Virtual Classroom Waiting room functionality enables the host to choose who will enter the session and who will not be allowed to join in.  Once the function is switched on, and the host is present in the session, everyone who enters the classroom will first be greeted with the VEDAMO system check, prior to entering the Waiting room. There, all participants will be gathered until the host admits some or all to the session.

The settings for the Waiting room are in the “Account and Settings”, available only to the organizational account as well as all admins, menu under the “General Information” tab.

Virtual Classroom Waiting Room: Settings location
Virtual Classroom Waiting Room: Settings location

Hosts have the ability to set the Waiting room as well, and this can be executed from the settings of the classroom. This action will override the academy settings.

Virtual Classroom Waiting Room: Room Settings
Virtual Classroom Waiting Room: Room Settings

Additionally, the host can control this function even from inside the room.

Virtual Classroom Waiting Room: Inside the Room Settings
Virtual Classroom Waiting Room: Inside the Room Settings

The default setting is “All skip waiting”, meaning that this functionality will be switched off by default.

Another available option is “All users are waiting”. If this is activated, every participant (registered user or not) will be subject to entering the Waiting room and has to be granted access to the session by the host.

The last option is “Registered users skip waiting”. If this setting is used, the platform will filter all the registered users and will redirect all guests to the Waiting room.

Note: If you reopen a session, the platform will remember the last setting that was used. Every time a session has been reopened, the setting for the Waiting room will be saved, and thus the setting can be different from the general one that is set in the organizational account.

Chat

From the Waiting room, each participant can use the chat (personal with the host only) in order to communicate with the host and vice versa.

Note: The host can use group messages (all participants will be able to see them, but they can respond only individually via the private chat with the host).

Virtual Classroom Waiting Room: Chat (Participant's View)
Virtual Classroom Waiting Room: Chat (Participant’s View)

Allow / Remove Participants

The host will have the ability to allow individually (Allow) or all (Allow all) participants the right to enter the session.

Virtual Classroom Waiting Room: Allow & Allow Everybody
Virtual Classroom Waiting Room: Allow & Allow Everybody

In case the host chooses not to admit a participant via the Remove button, the participant will be banned from the session (the participant, in that case, will see the same screen as if they have been regularly banned). This command can be used only individually.

Virtual Classroom Waiting Room: Remove Participant
Virtual Classroom Waiting Room: Remove Participant
Virtual Classroom Waiting Room: Banned (Removed) from the Session
Virtual Classroom Waiting Room: Banned (Removed) from the Session

If the host has unbanned a (previously banned) participant, by pressing the padlock icon, then a refresh will be needed by the same participant in order to be able to join the session successfully.

Virtual Classroom Waiting Room: Unban button
Virtual Classroom Waiting Room: Unban button

 

Was this article helpful?