The video boxes settings allow the host to control each video box individually overriding the participants’ controls in the current session. These include Individual Video, Video Mosaic, Screen Sharing and Media Player boxes. Each of these video boxes has its own drop-down menu.

 

Video Boxes Settings: Drop-down menu
Video Boxes Settings: Drop-down menu

Press the three-dot sign in order to get to the video box setting. It is accessible by pressing the three-dot sign at the top of the box and has the following options:

 

Video Boxes Settings: The video box sync mode
Video Boxes Settings: The video box sync mode

 

When the host opens, closes, chooses a full-screen of the video box – do the same for the participants.

If this option is ON, participants’ video boxes are synchronized with the host’s. If the host opens it from the button on the right, it also opens on the participants’ screens.

Individual video box is used as an example in all images below but note that these settings are valid also for the Video Mosaic Box, Screen Sharing and Media Player.

 

Video Boxes Settings: Host’s point of view
Video Boxes Settings: Host’s point of view

 

Video Boxes Settings: Participant’s point of view
Video Boxes Settings: Participant’s point of view

However, each participant can close the box (only for their own point of view) by clicking on the “X” button in the top right corner of the box or by clicking on its icon on the right.

 

Video Boxes Settings: Example how each participant can close the box (only for their own point of view) by pressing the “X” button
Video Boxes Settings: Example how each participant can close the box (only for their own point of view) by pressing the “X” button

 

Video Boxes Settings: Host can close the window but every participant can open it afterwards
Video Boxes Settings: Host can close the window but every participant can open it afterwards

 

When the host closes the box from the “x” button, it closes for the host as well as for the participants, but every participant can open it afterwards

The same happens when the host closes the box from the “x” button in the top right corner of the box. It closes for the host and also for the participants, but every participant can open it by clicking on its icon on the right.

 

Video Boxes Settings: Participant’s point of view when the individual video box is closed by the host (clicking the button on the right will open it)
Video Boxes Settings: Participant’s point of view when the individual video box is closed by the host (clicking the button on the right will open it)

 

The same is valid for entering and exiting full-screen mode. When the host enters full-screen mode from this button  at the top of the box, it is shown in full screen on the host’s and also on the participants’ screens. Each participant can exit it by pressing the “esc” button on their keyboard or clicking on the “x” sign on their screen.

When the host exits full-screen mode of the box (by pressing the “esc” button or the ”x” sign on their screen, as shown above), participants’ boxes also exit full-screen mode. But each participant can enter it again from this button at the top of the box.

When the setting is OFF the synchronized mode will be disabled and the participants’ video boxes will not sync with the host’s. If the host opens/closes a box or chooses full-screen mode, the participants’ screens will not be affected. In this case the host and the participants control the video boxes independently from one another.

 

Video Boxes Settings: This option is turned ON by default.
Video Boxes Settings: This option is turned ON by default.

 

Forbid the participants to open and close the video-box, and to enter and exit full-screen.

 

Video Boxes Settings: Forbid the participants to open and close the video-box
Video Boxes Settings: Forbid the participants to open and close the video-box

 

When this option is turned ON, participants will not be able to close the box or enter full-screen mode. The Close and Full-screen buttons on their video box will disappear.

 Video Boxes Settings: Participants’ point of view showing the blank buttons
Video Boxes Settings: Participants’ point of view showing the blank buttons

 

Also, participants will not be able to Open and Close the video box by clicking its icon on the right side of the screen. The video boxes are controlled only by the host. This option is turned OFF by default.

Video Boxes Settings: Individual Video Window
Video Boxes Settings: Individual Video Window

Full-screen mode for the participants

 

Video Boxes Settings: Full-screen mode for the participants
Video Boxes Settings: Full-screen mode for the participants

 

When the button Enter is clicked, the box will enter full-screen mode only for the participants, but not for the host.

Video Boxes Settings: Example from the participants’ point of view when the host has selected the full-screen mode (Enter)
Video Boxes Settings: Example from the participants’ point of view when the host has selected the full-screen mode (Enter)

 

When the button Exit is clicked, the box exits full-screen mode only for the participants, but not for the host.

Video box state for the participants

When the host clicks Open, it opens only for the participants, but not for the host.

 

Video Boxes Settings: Host’s point of view (the individual video box is closed)
Video Boxes Settings: Host’s point of view (the individual video box is closed)

 

Video Boxes Settings: Participants’ point of view (they will see the video box pop up on their screen even if the box on the host’s screen is closed)
Video Boxes Settings: Participants’ point of view (they will see the video box pop up on their screen even if the box on the host’s screen is closed)

 

When the host clicks Closed, it closes only for the participants, but not for the host.

 

Video Boxes Settings: Example from the host’s screen (the individual video is closed for the participants but still can be seen by the host)
Video Boxes Settings: Example from the host’s screen (the individual video is closed for the participants but still can be seen by the host)

 

Video Boxes Settings: Example of the participants’ point of view when the CLOSED function is activated by the host.
Video Boxes Settings: Example of the participants’ point of view when the CLOSED function is activated by the host.

 

Whether participants will be able to open or close the box on their screens depends on the state of the above mentioned setting “Forbid the participants to open and close the video-box, and to enter and exit full-screen. The host will control it”.

Was this article helpful?