Virtual Classroom Advanced Settings

Advanced Virtual Classroom Advanced Settings  feature will help you modify your participants’ permissions before the session starts. You can get full control of what your students can do and see in the room before opening it.

Location

In order to access the Advanced settings menu, click on the Virtual classrooms menu tab (1) from the left-side menu. Then click on the Start a live session button. (2) On the virtual classroom creation page, you will see the Advanced settings (3) option. Click on it to expand the menu.

The first section in the Advanced settings is Room Access.

This category allows you to select whether the participants need to wait for the teacher, not able to enter the virtual room, or they will be able to enter the virtual room even if the teacher hasn’t entered yet.

Virtual Classroom Advanced Settings: Room Access option
Virtual Classroom Advanced Settings: Room Access option

The next section is System Check.

Here you can set on or off the system check, and also whether to perform it only once on a specific device.

Virtual Classroom Advanced Settings: System Check settings
Virtual Classroom Advanced Settings: System Check settings

Speaking/listening is the next section of the advanced settings.

This category allows you to select whether the user’s microphone and audio are on or off by default. The default for both is “Yes”.

Virtual Classroom Advanced Settings: Speaking and listening settings
Virtual Classroom Advanced Settings: Speaking and listening settings

Access to the Whiteboard is the next section on the list.

This category lets you select the permissions for participant’s interaction with the whiteboard. You can choose whether they can see the whiteboard, write on the whiteboard, edit objects on it or be presenters. All of them are set to “Yes” by default, except the presenter option, which is set to “No”.

Virtual Classroom Advanced Settings: Access to the whiteboard settings
Virtual Classroom Advanced Settings: Access to the whiteboard settings

Next up we have the Chat system.

This category allows you to set up chat permissions for participants. You can choose whether participants can see or write in it and use the personal chat option. The default setting for all of them is “Yes”.

Virtual classroom advanced settings: Chat settings
Virtual classroom advanced settings: Chat settings

 

Up next is Mosaic.

This category allows you to set up permissions for the video mosaic. Both seeing the video mosaic and being present in the video mosaic are set to “Yes” by default.

Virtual classroom advanced settings: Video mosaic settings
Virtual classroom advanced settings: Video mosaic settings

Finally, we have the Download category.

Here you can set up participants’ permissions for downloading and uploading files. It allows you to regulate whether participants can see the upload box and whether they can upload and download files. The default setting for accessing the upload box and downloading files is “Yes”, while for uploading files it is “No”

After adjusting your desired settings, you can click on the Start now button in order to begin the session.

As a tutor, you will be opening the virtual classroom through your own account. Your students, however, won’t need an account (unless the LMS is used) in order to enter the room and will simply need to put in a name when entering.

Virtual classroom advanced settings: Download settings
Virtual classroom advanced settings: Download settings

Was this article helpful?