The individual video and video mosaic

VEDAMO Virtual Classroom provides two types of video communication in order to better meet its users’ needs – video-mosaic and individual video:

  • The video-mosaic is a combination of participants’ videos in one window.
    It is the same for all users in a room.
  • The individual video is a single window, separated from the video-mosaic.
    It could show any of the users in the room, which one is the host’s choice. By default it will show the host’s video.

The host may decide to have one of the participants in an individual video.

The host could choose which participant to be shown in the Individual video from the drop-down menu on the top of the video window.

Individual video and Screen Share in the Virtual Classroom: Individual Video in Groups
Individual video and Screen Share in the Virtual Classroom: Individual Video

 

The individual video can also be turned off.

Both the individual video and video-mosaic buttons are located on the right side of the virtual classroom. Each of them can be clicked to expand into a window.

Individual video and Screen Share in the Virtual Classroom: Individual video

 

Clicking on the Individual/Participants (video-mosaic) button will either show or hide the video view but it does not turn on/off the camera. When the video connection is in progress, the little camera icon will become green.
If a user decides to hide the Individual/Participants video, the camera icon will be flashing to remind there is a working video connection in the background.

Individual video and Screen Share in the Virtual Classroom: Video Streaming

 

All of the participants, who have entered the virtual classroom, become part of the video mosaic by default (except for the host), even if they have entered without a camera, or have decided later to turn it off. If someone does not have a video shown, the reason for that will be explained in a short notice inside their box in the mosaic, right under the name. The status of the camera could be:

  • User has no camera
  • User turned off camera
  • Camera turned off by host
  • User disconnected

 

Synchronizing the video windows with the participants

The host can select the option to synchronize the video windows (including the window of the media player and screen sharing) for all participants. This could be done from the menu shown below which is opened by clicking on the three dots in his own video box or that of a participant. A new window will open.

The video boxes settings allow the Host to control each video box separately for the participants in the current session. These include Individual Video, Video Mosaic, Screen Sharing and Media Player boxes. Each of these video boxes has a dropdown menu (in the three dots at the top) with the following options:

 

“When the host opens, closes, chooses a full-screen of the video box – do the same for the participants.”

When this setting is ON, the host’s actions will be reproduced on the participants’ screens – when the host opens, chooses a full-screen or closes the Individual/Participants video window it will open, enter full-screen or close on the participants’ screens.
Participants, however will be able to choose whether to keep this change or not, but every time the host makes a new change, this will affect participants’ videos.

  • When the option is turned OFF, the synchronization of the video box stops. Then, the host and the participants control the video boxes independently. 

NOTE: This option is turned ON by default.

 

“Forbid the participants to open and close the video-box, and to enter and exit full-screen. The host will control it.”

When this option is turned ON, participants will not be able to close the box or enter full-screen mode. The Close and Full-screen buttons on their video box will disappear.

Also, participants will not be able to Open and Close the video box by clicking its icon on the right side of the screen.

This video box now is controlled only by the host. 

 

NOTE: This option is turned OFF by default.

Full-screen mode for the participants

  • When the button Enter is clicked, the box will enter full-screen mode for every participant in the session, except for the host.
  • When the button Exit is clicked, the box exits full-screen mode for every participant in the session, except for the host.

“Video box state for the participants”

  • When the host clicks Open, it opens for every participant in the current session except for the host. 
  • When the host clicks Closed, it closes for every participant in the current session, except for the host.

Individual video in groups/breakout rooms

If the participants are divided into groups in breakout rooms, the host could set different individual videos with different people for each group.
But only one individual video is allowed for each group at one and the same time.

Individual video and Screen Share in the Virtual Classroom: Individual Video in Groups

 

Screen Share in the Virtual Classroom

As it is with the Video Windows controls, participants could show/hide the shared screen from the share-screen button on the right side.

Screen share button

 

Again, this doesn’t turn on/off the function – this is done by the share-screen button at the bottom of the screen. Here is the difference:

Individual video and Screen Share in the Virtual Classroom: Screen Share

 

How does the screen share work?

When a participant wants to share their screen by clicking the share-screen button at the bottom, a message will be sent to the host that one particular participant wants to share their screen. The host then could allow or deny it.

Individual video and Screen Share in the Virtual Classroom: Screen Share Prompt
Individual video and Screen Share in the Virtual Classroom: Screen Share Prompt

 

The host could request a participant to share their screen. This can be done from the drop-down menu of the share-screen window.

Individual video and Screen Share in the Virtual Classroom: Requesting Screen Share
Individual video and Screen Share in the Virtual Classroom: Requesting Screen Share

 

The participant will receive a message for the request and they could choose whether to share their screen or not.

Individual video and Screen Share in the Virtual Classroom: Accepting Screen Share
Individual video and Screen Share in the Virtual Classroom: Accepting Screen Share

 

If the Cancel button is clicked, the host will receive this notification with an option to resend the request.

Individual video and Screen Share in the Virtual Classroom: Refused Screen Share
Individual video and Screen Share in the Virtual Classroom: Refused Screen Share

 

Once a participant has allowed their screen to be shared, it remains shared until the participant decides to stop the sharing, no matter how many times their screen sharing video box is opened and closed.

Two Shared Screens at the same time

In VEDAMO’s Virtual Classroom you also have the ability to share two screens at the same time. By default this option is turned off but you can turn it on by ticking it in the Settings menu.

Screen sharing settings

 

When selected an additional video box will appear on the right side of the screen which is for the host’s screen sharing. This option leaves the other screen sharing box available for use. This allows the host to share their screen without stopping the participant’s shared screen, so that participants can see two shared screens simultaneously – the host’s and one participant’s.

Host’s and Participant’s screen sharing boxes

 

Two shared screens – participant’s point of view

 

Share Screen in groups

If the participants are divided into groups in breakout rooms, the host could set a different shared screen for each group.
Only one shared screen is allowed at one and the same time in each group.

For all other functional windows in VEDAMO Virtual classroom, check the full article for Virtual Classroom Functional Windows

Was this article helpful?